Monday workshop – Spins, turns and pivots

You know, when I started this blog I invisioned charting my continual progress as a dancer – a nice, diagonal line going onwards and upwards, like the side of a pyramid (oooh, topical!). But you know how pyramids look when you get up close? All jagged and and messy with bits hanging off. I have seen it in pictures. And that is exactly how my dancing feels at the moment.

As you can see from the title of this post, tonight we had an hour long workshop on Spins, Turns and Pivots. This is an area of dancing I desperately need to practise because I do feel a bit nervous with the world spinning all around me at a thousand miles an hour. Call me old-fashioned. Anyway, we did this brilliantly well-thought out workshop incorporating several common turns used in belly dance – three point turns, crossover turns, paddle turns and inside out circles (where your hips circle to the opposite way you are turning). It ended in a short choreography to put the turns into practice. Well, actually for me it ended with sitting in a chair awkwardly clapping everyone else because I SUCK. You remeber how I said a couple of posts ago that when I get frustrated I get very upset and panicky? Well, it happened again, and I ended up sitting out the last fifteen minutes because I couldn’t bear the thought of anyone watching me do something imperfectly. Dear Diary, why am I so crap?

I do feel this is becoming a bit of a problem for me and I really want to overcome it – how can I push through that wall that springs up every time I struggle with something? As my teacher quite rightly (and sweetly, for she is a darling) pointed out, if I already knew how to do everything there would be no point in me coming to workshops! But if I don’t get something within the first couple of tries, I become convinced that I never will. Take today, for example. Inside out turns. I simply could not get it, even when my teacher was standing right in front of me and breaking it down into small movements. Nope. Brain freeze, leading to complete panic and the wish to dissolve into a puddle. Yet I come home, look in the mirror and do it first time. Why?

It does seem a bit self-indulgent to say all this, but really I suppose I’m hoping that I’m not alone! I’m still trying to get my head around the fact that learning a new skill – any new skill – is not necessarily linear. You forget things from week to week, make mistakes, have days when you feel useless, and I think what I’m trying to understand is that its ok to be a bit rubbish sometimes. Surely I wont always be?

I don’t want to end on a negative note – I’ve already done that once today. So, positives. I practised spotting and maintaining my frame whilst dancing – basics that I always need reiterating – and I really noticed some improvement. Its funny, I did salsa dancing for a little bit, and it really paid off today! If you don’t spot when you’re dancing with a partner you’ll knock them flying. I know this from experience. I have also opened up a little to the idea of incorporating a few spins into a solo I am choreographing for myself. Just a simple three-point turn, but for me its a big step.

Well, they say a problem shared is a problem halved, and I definitely feel more positive after sharing my experiences. And with that I shall say goodbye for now.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:02:01

    I think it can be hard not to be perfect at something straight off, especially if you love doing it. I think it helps to think of what you are good at, amazing at – and how far you have come.

    Reply

  2. starmouth
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:08:14

    You are quite right, but its something I find very hard to accept!

    Reply

  3. Sean
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:38:00

    If you can do it at home, alone, but you can’t do it at the workshop, it sounds like it’s concerned with feeling comfortable having others watching you. Especially if you like your teacher and want to impress her, or at least show that you are trying, or if there are ego-factors relating to some of the other students (just as an example, I have no idea if that is the case); all these things can lead to putting a lot of pressure on yourself to do well, which you won’t feel at home.

    Any good teacher will be accepting that even their best student will occasionally have a bad day, and will realise that encouraging their students to relax & enjoy themselves will help them more than pushing too hard. You have a great teacher, so hopefully realising the pressure is coming from you and not her will help you let go and not worry about results. So long as you make the effort to be there and do what’s asked, you will get better!

    And come back to salsa, we miss you! 🙂

    Reply

  4. starmouth
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:45:54

    I do miss salsa, and the friendly faces. 🙂

    I love people watching me perform, but hate people watching me practice! Can’t bear not to be the best, but trying to work on this. That was probably half the problem with salsa – no way of hiding my mistakes!

    Reply

  5. Hez
    May 13, 2011 @ 03:43:35

    Hey there. 🙂 I read your blog from time to time (I’ll be starting my own dancing blog soon!) and I wanted to comment on this post..

    I kind of have the same issue as you. Sort of. The difference is that it doesn’t upset me much. When we drill a new move in class, there are sometimes I just CAN NOT get it. I try my hardest. I watch myself in the mirror. Watch my instructor. Watch other dancers – hoping to god something clicks – but it doesn’t. The first time it happened, I was biting back tears. I literally wanted to run out of the room. I didn’t understand why it seemed that everyone else in the class could grasp this concept, but I couldn’t. Me = epic fail.

    However, the next day at home when I would practice, I would get it. No problem! WTH..

    I learned that with me it’s not a ‘nervous’ thing – it’s a ‘brain+muscle’ thing. Literally, I needed time to digest the move. I saw it in class, tried it, then needed to step back and let it sit in my head for a while. Almost like it took a little extra time for my muscles to connect to my head to perform the move.
    Now when it happens in class, I don’t wig out. I know that when I go home and try it later, the move will come. It just takes me, personally, a little longer for it to absorb.

    My instructor is really good about asking us ‘Does it make sense up here?’ . If it makes sense in your brain (meaning you know what you have to do to make the move and you understand the steps), you will get it with time. Your muscles just need to catch up to your mind. 🙂 So when it feels like the movements aren’t happening, ask yourself if the step makes sense in your head. If it does, just relax and keep going with the flow in class. Then practice it tomorrow. You’ll get it. 🙂

    Reply

  6. starmouth
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:12:50

    Hello, thanks for the taking the time to read my blog!

    I think for me, at least some of the problem is that we practice in a room without mirrors. I know its not good to rely on mirrors too much, but sometimes it really helps. For example, the inside out turn that I was having trouble with – I couldn’t see if when I started the move I was in the correct position, so I didn’t have the confidence to keep going. Therefore I kept stopping halfway through because it felt awkward and I was convinced I was doing it all wrong. And of course the problem with turns is that there is always going to be a point when you are facing away from your instructor! That always throws me a bit!

    Reply

  7. Alice
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 22:04:00

    my spins and turns improved greatly after I started to take classical ballet lessons (pirouettes among other things :D) and after I started to learn veil. I like it very much and enjoy spinning with it a lot so all that spinning kinda made me capable of spinning longer without getting sick and I learned somehow not to be dependent on spotting, but to gaze upon the end of my veil. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment